A+ A-

Poznan 2013 Homeless World Cup

 The 11th edition of the Homeless World Cup takes place from 11-18 August 2013 at Lake Malta, Poznan.

At a specially constructed arena next to Lake Malta, homeless and socially disadvantaged men and women from across the world will unite to represent their countries in this unique football tournament and change their lives forever. 64 teams from 50 countries will participate to this year football tournament.

The Homeless World Cup tournament is a street football event with unique rules: 
  •  Players must be at least 16 years old and be playing in a Homeless World Cup tournament for the first time. Players must meet at least one of the following criteria:
- Have been homeless at some point after 01.08.12 in accordance to the national 
definition of homelessness 
- Make their main living income as street paper vendor
- Asylum seekers currently without positive asylum status or who were previously asylum 
seekers but obtained residency status after 01.08.2012
- Currently in drug or alcohol rehabilitation and also have been homeless at some point in 
the past two years (post 01.08.2011)
  • Each match takes 15 minutes and is divided into two halves of 7 minutes each with a break of 1 minute.
  • Teams are made of 8 players, and there will be a maximum of 4 players per team on the court: 3 outfield players and 1 goalkeeper. 
  • The tournament runs for eight days, following a 3-stage structure: 1. Qualification stage; 2. Group stage; 2. Trophy stage. 
  • The best teams will play for a chance to win the Homeless World Cup Trophy; the second group will play for another cup, third group for another cup, and so on and so forth. 
  • Teams will be awarded at the end of each match: 3 points for the winning team; 2 points for the team that wins by shoot-out; 1 point for the team that loses by shoot-out and 0 point for the teams that lose a game in normal time. In the case of a match ending in a tie, it will be necessary to decide the game with a sudden death shoot-out. 
  • All the players will win a medal.
The complete list of tournament rules can be downloaded from the website: 
The Draw: 
The official draw will take place on Saturday 10th of August at 6pm at Lake Malta and will determine the groups for the first stage -following their position in the ranking which is based on the results of the last Homeless World Cup tournaments. Current Homeless World Cup rankings can be found here: 
Time schedule for the matches: 
Sunday 11th – from 11am to 4pm
Monday 12th – from 12pm to 7pm
Tuesday 13th – from 12pm to 7pm
Wednesday 14th – from 12pm to 4:30pm
Thursday 15th – from 12pm to 7pm
Friday 16th – from 12pm to 7pm
Saturday 17th – from 12pm to 7:30pm
Sunday 18th Finals day – from 9:25am to 7pm (+Closing Ceremony right after)
The final day
Sunday 18th of August 2013 will be the final day of the Homeless World Cup. Each team will 
compete for a trophy.
The ceremony will include the presentation of the Homeless World Cup, the Women's Homeless 
World Cup and the following individual and team awards: 
 Best Female Player
 Best Male Player
 Best female Goalkeeper
 Best Male Goalkeeper
 Best Coach (Men’s competition)
 Best Coach (Women’s competition)
 Best New Team Comer

The best duck